Picture
For some reason I have made two different risottos in the last few days: one was with rice and the other with pearl barley (very hip and trendy don’t you know!) That got me thinking about the different forms of grains/starches I use. My top 4 are definitely: rice, bulgar wheat, couscous and pearl barley.  Just out of curiosity I decided to have a look at the cost per portion (yes I need to get out more) and based on prices from a local supermarket this is what I came up with:


Couscous: 1 portion = 60g; 8p per portion

Bulgar wheat: 1 portion = 75g; 16p per portion

Risotto rice: 1 portion = 75g; 17p per portion

Pearl Barley: 1 portion = 75g; 8p per portion

So none of them exactly breaks the bank!


Picture
This evening I made a risotto using some really nice smoked fish I had left-over from something else and I decided to use the leeks and sprouts from my veg bag. Is this the first recorded instance of sprout risotto I wonder? And it occurred to me that risotto is one of my favourite ways of using stuff up:  so here’s a suggestion for whatever veg and stuff you have kicking around:

Bottom of the fridge risotto (serves 2)

1 onion or 1 large leek

2 cloves garlic (optional)

Handful shredded cabbage/sprouts/ frozen peas/sweet corn

150g risotto rice or pearl barley

500 ml stock (veg, chicken or whatever)

2 tbsp olive oil (or butter or any other oil)

1 glass white wine (if you can spare it)

100 g of whatever else you have : mushrooms or peppers or cooked chicken or fish or prawns

Picture
Heat the oil/butter. Fry the onion/leek and garlic for 5 minutes until soft. If you are adding peppers or mushrooms add them now and continue to fry until soft.

 Add your choice of grain and stir well to coat the grains in the oil.

Add the wine and stir until it is absorbed. Slowly add the stock a couple of tablespoons at a time, stirring every time you add more stock and waiting until it is absorbed before you add some more.

When almost all the stock is added add whatever else you have left (the cabbage/peas/sweetcorn plus any chicken/fish/prawns) and make sure they are heated through.

Serve with some grated cheese on top.







Leave a Reply.