Picture
After a false start (I was so determined to get my veg bag before supplies ran out that I was at the stall before the stall-holders!) I managed to secure my veg bag. What I got (for £4):


6 medium potatoes
4 medium onions
3 large carrots
2 enormous parnsips
6 mushrooms

Plus: half a dozen organic eggs (£1.80)






The first thing I made was a carrot and beetroot salad:

Carrot and beetroot salad (serves 4 as a side dish)

Wash and scrub the 4 beetroots. Put in a pan of cold water, put lid on, bring to the boil and simmer really gentle for about an hour. Then let the beetroot cool, peel them and chop into 1 cm dice.

Meanwhile, peel the 3 carrots and grate them (or cheat and cut them into chunks, then blast them in an electric food chopper).

Put the carrots and beetroot in a large bowl then make the dressing. Which is:

1 tablespoon olive oil
1 tablespoon balsamic vinegar
1 teaspoon sesame oil
1 teaspoon honey
Pepper to season

Put all the dressing ingredients in a small bowl, whisk them together to amalgamate them together. Pour the dressing over the veg, add 4 tablespoons of sunflower seeds and mix well.

Chill before serving.

One portion is for lunch tomorrow and the other portions are ear-marked to go with various other dishes I've got planned for the rest of this week. Watch this space.....







Leave a Reply.