Picture
Even though it is officially spring we still only have one hen laying: which means that we only get an egg every other day. Most of the time that is enough to keep us going, but occasionally I need a few extra eggs and so, as well as my veg box, I sometimes get half a dozen wonderful Whitmuir eggs. This weekend was one such occasion: I made a meringue for our visitors on Friday night – which meant that I was left with some egg yolks which needed using up. I didn’t fancy custard, but wanted something sweet because, as usual by this point in the weekend, the cake tin was empty. So imagine my delight when I found a recipe to make a sponge cake using only egg yolks!

Egg yolk sponge cake

3 egg yolk(s)
2 tablespoon(s) water (hot)
125 ml caster sugar - yes it really is ml not grams or ounces!
125 ml self-raising flour
1 pinch of salt
½ tsp vanilla extract
2 tbsp milk

Preheat oven to 180 deg C/ fan 160 deg C

Beat egg yolks and hot water till creamy then gradually add the sugar and beat till thick and pale. Add salt and vanilla.

Fold in the flour and milk alternately till combined. Pour into two greased and lined 18 cm round tin and bake for 15-20 minutes or until a skewer comes out clean. Cool on wire rack.

As you can see I sandwiched them together with jam, but you could use cream or buttercream or ...........





Leave a Reply.